This Big City

reflections 25/09 | September 30, 2009

With 6.77 billion people on the planet I don’t really believe I am unique, more just a combination of factors so many other people possess. But maybe in this group of 35 I am unique in some way… All I have is my creativity, and I hope it’s a powerful tool. I also believe that I am quite adaptable, and can successfully apply myself to stuff that I may not have attempted before. I believe in making progress, not hanging on to pointless traditions… apart from maybe the royal family… and I think technology has a huge role to play in that. I strongly support non physical products. We are already using far too many resources making ‘stuff’ and I think its time to move our economies into being more service based, i think its the only way we can continue to have economic growth and not destroy the planet. We have so many huge challenges to face and I believe to tackle these we need to make changes that can be adopted by the mainstream. However, realistically, I doubt we could achieve anything as massive as this during MACE so I would rather have some fun with some crazy creative ideas that can make peoples lives a bit easier, a bit more fun, again, with the potential for mass adoption.

Posted in week one

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Joe Peach is an Artist and Designer based in London, UK. At present, he is studying Sustainable Communities and the Creative Economy at Postgraduate level in Kingston University.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

